Calligraphy fits and starts

Calligraphy first entered my consciousness over seven years ago, right before Angie and I got married, because she has a friend who is a calligrapher.  She told me about his fascination with pens and nibs, and while that didn’t mean anything to me at the time, his elegant and beautiful writing in our wedding guestbook certainly made an impact on me.

Probably a year and half ago I decided to try it for myself.  I read good things about Pilot Parallel Pens on some calligraphy blogs, so I bought a 1.5mm pen, some practice paper, and played around on and off, learning Uncials and Italics and some simple fonts.

More recently, I purchased another two Parallel Pens (2.4mm and 3.8mm) and realized that I probably should have bought them earlier.  It was much easier to practice since I could form better serifs and the extra tip width helped me to see the formation of each letter much better.

Parallel Pens

As my writing improved and I got better, I started to notice a few things:

  1. My original pad of “Calligraphy” practice paper causes the ink to feather like no one’s business.
  2. Parallel Pen ink cartridges don’t last very long, especially for the wider 3.8mm pen which naturally flows more ink per stroke.

The quest was on to find better paper, and I also became interested in refilling my Parallel Pen cartridges with ink.  I’m going to reserve those topics for separate blog posts, but needless to say, I’ve been bitten by the writing bug.

Leave a Reply

