A toast to the home roast

Coffee roast, that is.  I think it has been about two years now since my original blog post (back when I was using Tumblr) on roasting my own coffee, and I thought it would be fun to write an update on how things are going.

How much coffee, sir?  Since I’m the only one who drinks coffee in the house, and I try really hard to keep my intake to one French Press a day, I go through about a pound of green beans every two weeks or less.  That’s roughly twenty-six pounds a year, times two years, or about fifty-something pounds of coffee.

Amazingly, I still have the original Nostalgia brand roaster (actually hot air popcorn popper), although it certainly has a lot more character now, just like the beans that it roasts.  I’m happy to report that it’s still working as well today as it did on Day 1, although I have this great knack for jinxing things.

IMG_1910

One of the things that has changed, I’m not proud to say, is where I get my beans from these days.  It used to be that every few weeks we would trudge down to our local green bean supplier and buy a couple pounds of something new, but lately I’ve been buying from an outfit in the SF Bay Area.  The economics still work out great even when you factor in the shipping, and I never get into a situation where I might run out in the middle of the week, and now with baby there’s less time in general for these kinds of things.  Ok, ok, I admit I still struggle with not supporting local business.

IMG_1918

Above is a photo of my latest thirteen-pound shipment which just arrived.  After trying beans from all over the world, I find that I always come back to the Ethiopian (and African) beans in general.  The Ethiopian Yirga Cheffe is probably my absolute fave and a consistent performer, with its fragrant nose and strong blueberry notes.

Anyway it’s still a fun and tasty endeavour, and I’ve even been thinking about designing and building my own roaster before my little $30 popcorn popper goes to the big popper in the sky.  Sure there are plenty of commercial units out there, but what’s the fun in buying one of those?  Meanwhile, the roast continues.

FullSizeRender



Leave a Reply

